Women Dominate The SA Small Business Awards 2015

Women Dominate The South African Small Business Awards 2015

The South African Small Business Awards, now in its seventh year, once again drew thousands of entries. This year also saw the introduction of three special awards: National Exporter Award, National Travel & Tourism Award and the National Innovation Award.
This year the awards were dominated by women, proving that more and more women are seeking financial freedom . Their hard work and achievements was celebrated  at an exclusive gala breakfast at Montecasino in Fourways, Johannesburg.

Sonja Smith Funeral Group, owned by Sonja Smith, was awarded the National Woman in Business Champion. Smith’s passion for being of service to people in times of grief has seen the group go from strength to strength. Her tireless advocacy in tackling legal issues within the industry also saw the company featured in Rapport and on Carte Blanche.

Janine Van Zyl, owner of Cold Gold Artisan Ice Cream scooped the National Young Entrepreneur Champion Award. With the motto of ‘perfection is all the little things done well with love’, Cold Gold Artisan Ice Cream creates speciality 100% natural ice cream and sorbet in over 800 delicious flavours.

The National Entrepreneur Champion and inaugural National Exporter Award was awarded to Shooshoos, an exclusive baby shoe brand owned by Gill Bowen. The company has grown exponentially to become the biggest exclusive baby shoe brand in SA and now exports to over 15 countries.

The full list of winners and runner’s up as follows:
National Small Business Champion of the Year
Winner: Ariston Global - Reginald Pillay
1st Runner up: College Of Production Technology Pty Ltd - Andy Greenwood
2nd Runner up: Oembotutravel.co.za - Henri Otou

National Entrepreneur Champion of the Year 
Winner: Gill Bowen – Shooshoos
1st Runner up: Tyrone Naidoo – BEE Online Pty Ltd
2nd Runner up: Kevin Paxton - Noble Water Solutions Pty Ltd

National Woman in Business Champion of the Year 
Winner: Sonja Smith-Janse Van Rensburg - Sonja Smith Funeral Group Pty Ltd
1st Runner up: Tanya Kisten - Khanyisela College
2nd Runner up: Refilwe Marumo - Mighty Comms Pty Ltd

National Young Entrepreneur Champion of the Year
Winner: Janine Van Zyl - Cold Gold Artisan Ice Cream
1st Runner up: Tshepiso Mametja - Amphiguard Brickyard cc
2nd Runner up: Marisa Da Silva - Infanta Foods

Special Awards
National Travel & Tourism Award - Oembotutravel.Co.Za – Henri Otou
National Exporter Award - Shooshoos – Gill Bowen
National Innovation Award - Noble Water Solutions (Pty) Ltd – Kevin Paxton
For more information on the 2015 South African Small Business Awards, visit www.smallbusinessawards.co.za