Nominations Open for the 2017 Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards

Calls for nominations for the 2017 Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards are open.  The awards are dedicated to tackling the technology industry’s disheartening gender imbalance by celebrating female visionaries and ground-breakers in the ICT industry who are achieving career success and the companies that are supporting them to do so.

Supported by the most forward-thinking brands which are committed to celebrating the skills, innovation and leadership of women in tech, this year's awards are hosted by MTN in partnership with Kagiso Media and ITWeb's Brainstorm.

Mapula Bodibe, executive for the consumer business Unit at MTN SA, says that despite the strides being made by women professionals in ICT, a lot still needs to be done to increase the levels of women participation in the sector.

“We dedicate this initiative to the millions of women out there who have, over the years, been the symbols of resilience, fortitude, hope and sustenance. I wish to appeal to these professionals to use their influence and positions to pave the way for other female professionals to thrive and prosper," says Bodibe.

The platform also seeks to highlight and showcase available career opportunities available to girl children and young aspirant female professionals.

The initiative further seeks to enhance the advancement of female professionals in this highly technical and competitive sector.


Leadership recognition award: recognises senior female executives in the ICT sector whose proven depth of experience in leading change, influencing business outcomes and leading teams has impacted positively on the organisations they lead.

Innovator recognition award: recognises women who have introduced new methods, ideas, or products that are contributing in one way or the other to the delivery of a bold, new, digital world.

SME recognition award: recognises wholly-owned, women-run enterprises that are viable businesses which are making inroads in the ICT sector, and will be extended to internal employees who also run businesses on the side, using ICT to enable their businesses.

Graduate award (high schools): recognises a top ICT graduate from a high school who finished top of their class. The award is open to females who graduated in the immediate year preceding the awards ceremony.

Graduate award (tertiary): recognises a top ICT graduate from a tertiary institution who finished top of their class. The award is open to females who graduated in the immediate year preceding the awards ceremony.

Community builder recognition award: recognises a woman who has made a considerable difference in her community through ICT, or use of an ICT tool to make a difference in the community.

Lifetime achiever recognition award (women pioneer): recognises a woman who has longstanding success in the ICT industry, has demonstrated a remarkable entrepreneurial spirit, and has continually stayed ahead of the curve.

Excellence in ICT journalism award: this category seeks to recognise a journalist who has contributed immensely to creating a better understanding of the ICT industry through her reporting.

CEO’s award: this award recognises an MTN employee that has made a difference within the organisation with the use of ICT and Technology.

Ministerial recognition award: this category gives the minister the opportunity to use their discretion to nominate a female ICT professional whose contribution has helped to bridge the digital divide and facilitate access to telecommunication services.

This year, the Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards has introduced a new category, the public choice award. This category gives members of the public the opportunity to nominate an outstanding female professional in the ICT sector using an SMS platform. The dedicated SMS number will be unveiled in due course.

I would encourage all women who are succeeding in SA technology to consider these awards. So if you know any female that rocks the ICT industry, or if you are that woman, enter here.

The annual awards are targetted at female professionals across the broad spectrum of the ICT sector, and the winners across various categories will be announced on August 31.

Share this:

Copyright © The Disruptors. Designed by OddThemes